Life Long Learning through Volunteering


“Why do I volunteer? Because I want to share skills, learn from others and experience the joy of serving people from many different cultures throughout the world. As a lifelong learner, I have been either a student, a teacher or both my entire life. Since I retired from active schooling several years ago, I have enjoyed the freedom to not only continue my roles as student and teacher but also to expand them in service to others.

As The Director and many other people state in their life experiences, How Can I Help?, service is a ‘…journey, a vehicle through which we reach a deeper understanding of life.’ By listening more, judging less and being ready to respond to the needs of others, I continue this life journey, always with the hope that even though I am Ugandan by birth, I am – more importantly – a member of a world community, a community in which each of us can contribute our talents for the benefit of others. and that is really what am trying to show up.

 

What does volunteering mean to me? While I listen to the increasingly belligerent tones among many government leaders in this world, I maintain the hope that we volunteers can help change the world by remembering that for every difference that makes us unique, there is a common thread that connects us which is non rather than love for others.
Volunteering is often so meaningful to people who try it, that they are inspired to share their experiences with others.

 Many people look at volunteering as a one sided benefit but when you look at this service in all its aspects, you will notice that its an all sided beneficial service to you and those you offer it to, thats to say:

 

  • Volunteering makes you feel needed.
  • Volunteering can lead to learning new skills.
  • Volunteering can help you deal with some of your personal problems.
  • Volunteering helps you meet new people and breaks down barriers of misunderstanding, mistrust and fear.
  • Volunteering can create new contacts which may help your business or career.

you might be thinking, “The little bit that I can do will never help much!” or “What in the world can I do?” If you’ve ever spent ten minutes reading a book to a lonely child, you know that even that small amount of compassion and attention can make a world of difference. No one person can solve the world’s problems, but what little you do can make your little corner of the world — or one far away from yours a happier, healthier, safer place to live for those who need your help. Each of us can right a wrong, fill a plate, visit a shut-in, rescue a pet, deliver a meal, tend a public garden, mentor a child or whatever action inspires you.  Just jump in and volunteer whosoever needs your help, i believe and assure you that you will have moved the world some steps forward.

 

There are times in life when we all could use a helping hand from a stranger be it me or you at Byana mary Hill.  Whether it’s mentoring the kids there,opening a door or helping someone load their groceries, helping others is ingrained in us all.  The problem is that if you like to directly help someone, you may not be satisfied with your day to day job.  Volunteering is a way to satisfy that need to directly help and change someone’s life no matter the way you have done it given that it brings a smile to some one, The other thing you are not supposed to bring at first priority is you, take your role and the universe will also take effect on you positively without forgetting praying to the Almighty to give you more time so that you this for some quite long time.Consciously or unconsciously, every one of us does render some service or other. If we cultivate the habit of doing this service deliberately, our desire for service will steadily grow stronger, and will make, not only our own happiness, but that of the world at large.”
 I say all this because i know what its like volunteering and not in any others organization but at Byana Mary Hill.I have done this for five years now (teaching) and i feel great for what i have done, i know i have done great mentoring the young generation as its the most and most important thing in this world. I am not that much perfect to say this but i  know i have tried my best to do a little change to this world and not a single person will ever forget that. I know life is full of challenges wherever you will be, be ti in the office,parliament or any other place you call comfortable but thats all life’s journeys of which you are supposed to travel.

One hundred years from now, It will not matter what kind of car I drove, What kind of house I lived in, Or how much money I had in the bank, But the world may be a better place because I made a difference in a child’s life at some of the volunteering places in Byana Mary Hill, The Director has made it clear for every one to get a chance volunteer, it may sound weird to volunteer but it creates respect for you, and its also alot of fun. I say all  this stuff because its my time to say it only to inspire you to also do the same thing and to proudly await for your time too to come and also share the same experience to the world.

I and my fellow volunteers are very proud to be members of the Byana Mary Hill volunteering group, you too can also join us at Byana Mary Hill and experience whatever i have written in my article and will be making your own testimonials about what you will have experienced and share your pride with others, and the best of it all is inspiring others to also volunteer, thats when the world will be a better place for you to stay.

You know what, someday you guys may witness what ever i have written.
 

GOD BLESS YOU FOREVER.

 

Image

Leave a Reply

